By continuing your navigation on this website, you accept the use of cookies for statistical purposes.


John G​ó​mez and Nick the Record Present TANGENT


Srirajah Sound System - Si Phan Don Lovers Rock


PERIKAS - Laberinto


Mac Thornhill - No Way To Control It


King B. - Love is Crazy


L'Innovateur Djoe Ahmed Et Le Zoukabyle - Amek Amek


Hidrogenesse - La Carta Era Muy Larga (Dub)


Champagn’ - Bel Ti Négress


Androo - Lyriso


Kajou - Tet Chajé


Conjunto Baluartes - Nira Gongo


Land Shark - Tie Me Up (The Nas-T Version Instrumental)


Pellegrin El Kady - Seiva de Carnaval


Lee Jackson Band - Call On Me


LTA (Love The Action) - What Comes To Ya?


Urban Volcano Sounds - Ame no Uta (Rain Song) (New Extended Version)

Add to wantlist

Mr Bongo (MRBLP303)

2x Vinyl LP

Release date: Jul 12, 2024, United Kingdom

To celebrate 10 years of one of London’s most loved underground club nights, Tangent, Mr Bongo are thrilled to launch this new compilation series. Crafted by its two residents, John Gómez and Nick the Record, it aims to transmit a taste of Tangent’s spirit. A party rooted in inclusivity and open-mindedness, whose name captures the spontaneous switches in musical direction that are a defining element of their nights. For the compilation, the pair have cherry-picked a selection of their prized, rare and dancefloor-ready tracks from around the globe, that have soundtracked the past decade of parties.

Friends for close to 20 years, music lovers, record obsessives and internationally renowned DJs in their own right, John and Nick have two lifetimes worth of musical knowledge to draw from. John a long-standing NTS Radio resident and compiler for Music From Memory. Nick one of the UK’s go-to record dealers, resident DJ since the ‘90s at one of Japan’s pioneering parties, Life Force, and co-captain / co-edit-expert of Record Mission with Dan Tyler (Idjut Boys).

Tangent reaches around the globe and across different eras to make connections that stimulate emotional reverberations in the unfamiliar. Where the blissfully Balearic ‘Laberinto’ by Miguel Perikás, goes hand-in-hand with the Cameroonian hip-house of King B.’s ‘Love is Crazy’. The thundering ‘Amek Amek’ by L'Innovateur Djoe Ahmed et le Zoukabyle, rubs shoulders with the soulful Caribbean-influenced touch of Champagn’s ‘Bel Ti Négress’. And Pellegrin El Kady’s afro-cosmic ‘Seiva de Carnaval’, crosses paths with Kajou’s Kompa disco anthem ‘Tet Chajé’.

Tangent’s longevity is in part down to it having always embraced contemporary sounds. The sub-rattling bass of Srirajah Sound System’s stunning Molam dub stepper ‘Si Phan Don Lovers Rock’ and the slow, woozy mantra of leftfield dancehall explorer Androo’s ‘Lyriso’, are two shining examples.

This compilation represents an ongoing dialogue between past and present, transporting listeners to the heart of a pure musical experience, where open minds and open hearts are eager to follow the tangent.